De Colores

de Colores Rooster

From the first time that I was asked, I swore that I would never and I mean NEVER do a Cursillo. Never say never lol.

Rich and I

In the picture above embracing me is my brother Rich. He may not be my flesh and blood but he is definitely my brother and I love him more than words can say. We have known each other now for the better part of 5 years and God has placed us on this journey together in the Permanent Deacon Formation Program. We are almost done with our first year of aspirancy (discernment) and it has been an Awesome journey so far. If God wills it, we will write our letters to continue our journey and we will be accepted as diaconate candidates in August/September.

iron-sharpens-iron

“As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” Proverbs 27:17. This verse of scripture holds a special place in my life because I see it everyday. My brother Richard has always been there for me when I needed him and I for him and it will always be that way. We’ve been building this friendship, this brotherhood, that through the grace of God will stand the tests of time and flourish into an unbreakable bond. Proverbs 27:17 is not just a verse that we like, it is a verse that we live by. Faith into action brothers, that is what Christ’s love is all about!

Brotherhood_logo

Back to the never say never thing. I was never hip to Cursillo because of the way I was asked and treated after I said I wasn’t interested. There is a good zeal and bad zeal but that will be another topic for another day. I felt as though the men who asked me were very demeaning to me after I said no. There was pride and immaturity of faith on both sides. Through the years, I’ve taken a step back a time or two to look and see, truthfully and honestly how I’ve been progressing in my journey with Christ and I feel that I am headed in the right direction and that my spiritual maturity continues to grow daily all through Jesus Christ.

My brother Rich invited me a few months back, actually, it was more like just briefly mentioning it lol. I think he thought I was still upset about Cursillo. I told him that I would pray on it and consider it but that my schedule might be hectic come March. About a month ago, another diaconate brother of ours, Danny, was inviting me to go as well. I told him that day that it probably wasn’t going to happen. He was a little pushy but in a good way. Two weeks later I called Richard and told him I’d go. He was so excited and happy that I was going to go. I decided to go because he was the assistant lector of the retreat. A week before the retreat he came to pick up the registration and the money.  I asked him what time we needed to be there Friday. He was shocked and looked at me and said, “it starts on Thursday evening brother.” I told him that I wouldn’t be able to attend the retreat after all. I own a small business where it’s just my wife and I who run it. She would be out of town on Friday meaning I’d have to watch shop. Well, God had other plans. The schedule cleared up and I called him back and said “I’ll be there brother!” Once again, he was ecstatic!

De Colores can take on so many different meanings: how are you doing, yes, hello, and I love you just to name a few. To me, it was all about LOVE. That was the message that I received this weekend and it was on the last morning of the retreat. Christ was telling me that I need to love and take care of myself (not sure if you can tell but I’m a bit on the hefty side lol) for myself, my family but mostly for Him. I know some of you might be thinking, “Christ talked to you?” Yes. He speaks to all of us daily. The problem is that we are so busy with our lives that we don’t take the time to listen to Jesus asking us how are we doing or saying yes to us or a simple hello or like in my case, “John, I love you my brother, my friend, my son.”

jesus-reaching-in

Jesus Christ is Love and Mercy my friends. Take the time to sit down and allow Christ to tell you De Colores. God Bless!

 

 

Leave a Reply

